Google Chrome will actively direct you away from insecure websites

Google is currently working on a new feature for Chrome that will automatically direct users away from insecure sites still using HTTP in favor of sites that utilize HTTPS instead.

 

The search giant has long been a proponent of using HTTPS and all the way back in 2018, it began marking all HTTP sites as ‘not secure’ in its browser. Beginning with the release of Chrome 86 last year, Google also began warning users about insecure forms on HTTPS sites to prevent users from entering sensitive information such as their banking details.

  • We’ve put together a list of the best browsers available
  • These are the best VPN services on the market
  • Also, check out our roundup of the best Windows 10 VPN

Now though, the company is planning to add an “HTTPS-Only Mode” in an upcoming version of Chrome according to a new post on the Chromium Gerrit site.

 

HTTPS-Only Mode

Once this feature is available in Chrome, a new toggle to “Always use secure connections” will be added to the browser’s security settings under the “Advanced” heading. If this toggle is switched on, Google will “upgrade all navigations to HTTPS and warn you before loading sites that don’t support it”.

 

How To Enable HTTPS Mode On Google Chrome? Go to Settings > Security > Advanced and toggle always use secured connections, which enables HTTPS only browsing mode on Google Chrome. With this feature enabled, the browser will show a warning while loading a non-HTTPS website. Do note that, the update is still available in the beta or the developer version of Google Chrome, and it might take a few more months before making its way to the stable version. Given Google Chrome is a multi-platform web browser, the same update should be available on platforms like Android, iOS, Windows, macOS, Linux, and iPadOS. However, the feature is likely to be rolled out in phase, and might first arrive on the PC OS like Windows, macOS, and Linux. What Is The Difference Between HTTP and HTTPS? HTTPS is the latest protocol, which is nothing but an HTTP (Hypertext Transfer Protocol) but with encryption. A site with HTTPS protocol transfers data in an encrypted connection while the HTTP uses an insecure connection.

An insecure connection with HTTP will reveal information if anyone is monitoring that connection in plain text. This means, if a user inputs sensitive data like password and OTP on an HTTP connection, it will be sent in a plain text format.

Category:
Computer Education Social Media

1 people reacted on this

Leave a Comment